Author Topic: New to me BSA C11, questions  (Read 596 times)

mike joiner, newc10guy and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online timsdad

• Gold Member
Re: New to me BSA C11, questions
« Reply #30 on: May 22, 2020, 02:52:25 pm »
I stand corrected - memory going more than I thought. I've just looked at pictures of my C11G and it did, indeed, have a head steady to the front frame tube. I suppose I was thinking of the rearward one on the side-valve 350 - sorry.

Ray
Just a motorcyclist.

Online craigc11g

« Reply #31 on: May 22, 2020, 03:03:28 pm »
no I think its me , just been looking thro some spares and found a c11g top end with no head steady casting ? also the push rod tunnel section is taller , this looks more like the top end in question here so now I think this engine did not have a head brace fitted . sorry my mistake , im no expert that's for sure  :-[

Online donkey

• Please excuse grammer.
« Reply #32 on: May 22, 2020, 03:16:42 pm »
Craigc11g the head steady bracket is clearly illustrated in the B.S.A. sheet you posted so I would say they did have it
donkey

Offline johnintexas

« Reply #33 on: May 22, 2020, 03:21:26 pm »
I am no expert but I think this is correct

Here is that Ah ha moment.  Simple but effective. 
Thank you.

John in Texas

Offline John M

« Reply #34 on: May 22, 2020, 03:36:42 pm »
The C11G cylinder heads have the casting lug and hole for the steady, but the C11 heads I've seen do not. Presume that the head steady was standard on the later heads only.

Offline johnintexas

« Reply #35 on: May 22, 2020, 03:40:33 pm »
The C11G cylinder heads have the casting lug and hole for the steady, but the C11 heads I've seen do not. Presume that the head steady was standard on the later heads only.

I haven't been out to the workshop today. Next on my list.  I will check it out and report back.
Thanks to all for your help.
John in Texas

Online craigc11g

« Reply #36 on: May 22, 2020, 04:15:31 pm »